Is this you?

Standard

How I look when I discover my husband drank all the coffee

I received a flood of e-mails regarding my venting column, and I’d like to share some with you.

Kathy S. of Griffith complained about people driving too slow in the left-hand lane, something that drove me nuts when my potty trainers were whining, “I gotta go” in the back seat.

Janice Rebey calls herself “another crazy mom.” She complained about parents who volunteer, then don’t show up–“incredibly rude,” she said. “They just don’t think about the people they are putting on the spot. When you say you will be there, then you need to be there!”

As an active PTO member (Go, Homan Eagles!), I share Janice’s next complaint, “parents who gripe about things at the school but never set foot in one PTO/PTA meeting. Show up, or shut up!”

Not every parent agreed with me. Educator Sharon Konopasek said, “I am offended that you think one should ‘save kids’ carts for parents with two or more little ones.’ I chose to have one child. That simple grocery cart taught my child how to be polite in a grocery store, how to choose sensibly in the aisles, and much more. I use every opportunity to entertain a teachable moment.”

Yet another mom requested your input. “Quite a few people I know could use ideas to get grandparents and grandchildren closer,” said Karen Tognetti. “If you come up with a column of ideas (maybe from readers?) I would send it to my family members.”

There’s your challenge, parents. E-mail me at the address below, and I’ll print your comments in an upcoming column.

Speaking of bright ideas, an exciting opportunity for area kids is Southlake Children’s Choir. SCC is holding an open audition for new singers for the 2010-2011 performance season between 5:30 and 7 p.m. Monday, May 24, at Bethel Church, 10202 Broadway, Crown Point.

My two oldest children sing in SCC’s apprentice choir, and I’ve been so impressed by the serious musical education the kids get while having fun and making friends. After every rehearsal, they sing Aaron Copland on the way home–I never mimed practicing the piano after one of my lessons.

SCC is also a terrific way to give your kids a year-long musical education at a fraction of the cost of year-round music lessons, something I appreciate as a mom of four. SCC scholarships are even available.

Kids age 7 to 15 can audition. Auditions are about five minutes long, and no preparation or experience is necessary. My kids came out of theirs feeling proud, knowing they’d easily navigated a situation some adults can’t.

For more information, go to www.southlakechildrenschoir.net. If you can’t make the open audition, to schedule an appointment, call 1-866-662-1151.

About Rebecca Bailey

* Columnist, The Times of Northwest Indiana, for three years. * Professor for twelve years. * Mom of four teeny kids. * Voted "Most Dramatic," Castle Junior High School eighth grade, 1984. * Failed to diaper her first child before he projectile-pooped on the curtains. * Accidentally splattered her white Jack Russell Terrier with her red hair dye, which did not come out.

Leave a Reply

